eggplant, pasta, & a springform pan

What do you get when you combine eggplant, pasta & a springform pan (along with some other choice ingredients)?

If you are a certain food tv star, an Eggplant Timbale (recipe here).  Notice how in the picture it looks a bit like a pie or a cake?

The recipe, while time-consuming, wasn’t really all that hard.  Having never really tasted eggplant before, much less cooking with it, I probably shouldn’t have expected greatness.  I mean, who knows how to pick a good eggplant?

But let’s talk about the recipe….To start, you need to slice the eggplant lengthwise in 1/4 inch strips and grill them for about 4

Sliced Eggplant

minutes on each side.  We don’t have a grill pan, and since I don’t know how to use the grill, I figured our plug-in electric indoor george foreman-like grill would work just fine.  Except only two slices of eggplant would fit on the grill at one time.  While that cooked I prepped the ingredients, started the pasta, and began to saute an onion before browning the sausage & meat.  Not so bad.

Next up was the assembly.  You’re supposed to line a springform pan with the eggplant, making sure that the slices overlap AND hang over the edge of the pan.  They must have larger eggplants out in California.  If I wanted the eggplant to hang over the pan, it wouldn’t cover even 1/4 of the bottom of the pan, making it hard to overlap. Improvising (again), I laid pieces of eggplant of the bottom of the pan, then lined the sides of the pan with the eggplant, making sure edges hung over.

just prior to entering the oven...

The filling went in next, and then I folded the eggplant slices over and on top of the filling.  The one or two remaining pieces of left over eggplant went on the very top of the whole mess dish.  It looked kind of ok I guess….

So while it cooked & bubbled in the oven for 30 minutes, I threw everything into the dishwasher & wiped down the counter tops.  Is there anything better than knowing that when you’re done eating dinner you won’t have much of a cleanup?  It’s a crime against technology to NOT utilize a dishwasher.

After 3o minutes, this is what we had…..

sitting eggplant timbale

I waited 10 minutes.  And then I flipped.

Do you remember what it was supposed to look like?  Click again for photo & recipe.

It certainly did not look like this…

So as you can see, it didn’t exactly go as planned.  I probably should have read the reviews of the recipe first.  I would have bought a 3rd eggplant.  It would have baked it a bit longer.  And it certainly would have sat for more than 10 minutes after cooking.  Had I planned better, I would have searched high and low for smoked mozzarella (not at our local grocery store).

Ryan’s only comment…..”I don’t think I like the texture of eggplant.”  Get used to it buddy, I’m trying this at least one more time.

Let’s just hope it doesn’t look like this….

timbale fail.

This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to eggplant, pasta, & a springform pan

  1. Liz says:

    Mmmm I love eggplant. I eat it at least twice a week. But it’s definitely not for everyone. Breading and frying it is definitely my number 1 choice of cooking, but spraying it with some Pam and sprinkling with sea salt and pepper and baking it at 400 degrees…. amazing.

Leave a Reply

