the horror

I think it’s safe to say that I lost my stride.

That’s not what you want to learn with Chicago 26.2 around the corner.  Ugh.

After my 20 miler last week I was limping and hobbling around, and figured it was because I didn’t keep up with the aleve, and well, I ran 20 miles with a supposed bone bruise.  True, Monday at work was killer, but Tuesday was fine.  Of course, I had to grit my teeth to get through my Tuesday 2 miler.  And on Wednesday my 6 miler because a walk run for 2-3 miles, and I cut it short at 5 miles.

Before the 6 -er, 5 mile run/walk garbage, I went and got a massage.  The massage therapist has a studio in the running store, works on the athletes at one of the Ironman competitions each year, and worked on the athletes at the Athens Olympics.  (fact-you have to apply to go to the olympics as a massage therapist.)  In other words, I trusted her judgement and was hoping for some sort of miracle.  She suggested using the K-T Tape for my knee to promote blood flow to the area/supposed bruise.  The tape she said would be good for up to 5 days.  In reality, the thinner strands of tape were peeling back the next morning, and by yesterday it was rolling onto itself.

I’m not sure if the tape did anything.  I felt my leg a tad going down stairs yesterday, but nothing like it has been, so that’s a plus.

Anyways, the debate had been going on this past week about whether or not to do another 20 miler.  Question answered today when I tried to go out for a run and just. couldn’t. do. it.

2 miles in 24 minutes.

I wanted to cry.  I mean, I’ve never been especially fast, but what happened to 2 miles in 10:00 for long distance starts?

My stride is just gone.  I am completely unable to just run.  I don’t know what it is, but it’s frustrating as hell.  My tempo is off.  Instead of a nice and even tap-tap-tap-tap of my shoes hitting the pavement, I have a tap-put.  tap-put.  tap-put.  I started to wonder if one leg is longer or shorter than the other.  Seriously.  After two miles I decided to give it another try in the morning.  I can always cycle and/or hit the gym today.  Maybe that will help.  Or maybe I’m just delusional.

It still hasn’t hit me that I might not be able to do Chicago.  And I have this nightmare that we’ll still buy our plane tickets, go to the expo, etc, get to the race, and have to drop out at mile 2.  or run/walk.   woes of a runner : /

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

