What Was I Thinking

5k/10k this morning.

I thought it would be ‘fun’ to see more people from the running club (even though I saw a good bit of them on Thursday night).

I thought it would be ‘fun’ to run another ‘race.’  Especially since the last local organized run I ran in was last spring.

I thought it was for a good cause.

I thought it was going to be a really good, really large local race.  (who the heck care?!)

I didn’t think about the weather (44* right now, but feels like 38*).  Ok, it’s not that cold….

I didn’t think about the bridge that I’m going to have run over.  twice.

I didn’t really think about the logistics:  approx 1,000 people, running in ONE lane, with a good chunk of them turning around for the 5k portion while the 10k people keep running on…the 5k people can run with strollers…and start AT the same time as the 10k folks.

I certainly didn’t think about having to wake up at 5:30 so we could leave at about 6:45 to find parking.

Or dressing for the cold.  Did I mention that it was going to be cold?  And did I mention that the last time I ran 6 miles was in Chicago?  As in Chicago Marathon?

Should be interesting!

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

