10 miles = cookies and biscotti

With all this running talk lately, maybe I should just make this a blog about running and nothing else.  But I still don’t consider myself a real runner.  More on that later….

In the meantime, Ryan & I signed up for the New Orleans Rock & Roll Half Marathon.  It’ll be Ryan’s first half marathon, and my first experience with the R&R franchise.  Our friend Tasha is running it, and I suppose Gregg is just going to have to cheer us all since we can’t convince him to sign up or train.

Ryan’s downloaded a training plan, and with only 6 or 7 weeks to go, I finally downloaded one as well, but it doesn’t have that many long runs, so it’ll have to be a combination of the two.  Technically this will be my third half-marathon, but if you go by the books and record keeping of athlinks it’s only my second, since the last half I ran under someone else’s name (long story that involved friend giving me her bib since she was going to be out of town traveling at the last minute….but then the friend that was holding the bib forgot the bib at the hotel and just gave me her bib and she ended up running a 5k.  Did you get that?  because I barely did….ah, to be able to speak and write well!)

Unlike with a full marathon where I say, “I just want to finish” (but secretly have my own goals that I’m too afraid to voice), for this half I’m yelling out my goal of completing the half in under 2:00 (two hours for you non-runners).  I told that to one of the guys in the club, Bob, and he said, “Ah!  that’s a 9:09 pace…you should be able to do that”  (and he was right.  how on earth do people know pacing/final race times off the cuff?).

So yes, I should be able to do it.  but we’ll see.  Since I never did my 10 miler Saturday (and I’ll won’t be able to this weekend either), I ran 10 today after tossing and turning and missing my alarm clock go off.  It wasn’t so bad considering I started at 8am…10 miles:  1:32:28

    • Mile 1: 9:43
    • Mile 2: 9:42
    • Mile 3: 9:27
    • Mile 4: 9:19
    • Mile 5: 9:18
    • Mile 6: 9:11
    • Mile 7:  9:04
    • Mile 8: 9:03
    • Mile 9:  8:44
    • Mile 10:  8:53
    • Average: 9:14

I like the negative splits.  A lot.  I just wish I knew I had a sub 2:00 hr for the books, guaranteed.

After words I just bummed around, ate some lunch, and made a little this and a little that before curling up with a book, The Emperor of all Maladies.  Ryan needed to be reaffirmed that I wasn’t lost to teenage vampire romance novels.

coffee + home made biscotti, chocolate chip hazelnut cookie.

This entry was posted in booking it, good eats, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

