Changing Shape

So I guess there’s no denying it now…

It’s not quite that I’ve become sloth-like and gained weight without reason.

It’s not a pooch.

Nor is it a glutinous food baby (and it’s certainly not a beer belly, although for a while that’s what it looked like).

It’s most certainly a baby that’s causing all this changing shape nonsense!

After two years of ‘negative signs,’ there was a ‘positive sign’ the day after I moved into New Jersey.  Which was crazy to me. “How can you be positive??  You’re ALWAYS NEGATIVE” kept going through my head.

But it’s confirmed….and I’m just a day or two shy of 20 weeks.

Ironically enough, while neither of us can remember when it happened, we can pretty much assume I probably ran my two best 5Ks with a bunch of rapidly dividing cells getting jiggy with it in my uterus.  Sadly, I haven’t been able to run much at all during this pregnancy.  Much to my parents’ chagrin, I stuck with it for about 4 or 5 weeks after finding out I was pregnant, each run worse than the one prior.  Finally, after getting sick in someone’s yard two miles into a run, I tucked away my Garmin.  And after some weeks of just being purely miserable (walking wasn’t doing it for me), I joined a gym with a decent student discount.

Speaking of student-I survived my first semester of Penn, and my favorite class ended up being the very one I dreaded the most:  Advanced Pathophysiology.  Fall semester starts this Wednesday, and I’m not quite sure how I’m going to fit in the desks come November & December.

Anyways, back to the baby news:  Thursday we had that anatomy scan.  You know-does it have four limbs, a spine, an xx, or an xy.  So what is it?

The moment of truth…

After a great weekend with friends at the shore, we picked up our cake and ‘called’ my parents on FaceTime.  After everyone guessing it’s a boy, we made two cuts and yelped:

It’s a girl!

This entry was posted in Belly News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing Shape

  1. Erica Lynn says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! So happy for you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

